O'Neill Society Logo

Eugene O'Neill Review

Image 5
The Eugene O’Neill Review has been publishing scholarship about Eugene O’Neill and his milieu for thirty-two years, for most of that time as an annual. It has recently reorganized, with a new publisher Penn State University Press, and a new publication schedule (biannual). The Review, which continues to be sponsored by the Eugene O’Neill Society, is now fully indexed and archived on JSTOR and Project Muse.

We invite scholars and critics to contribute to the journal in this new phase of its existence. Fully peer-reviewed, the journal is open to critical, historical, or theoretical articles that in some way intersect with the life and work of Eugene O’Neill, including collaborators (e.g. the Provincetown Players, Susan Glaspell, etc.), influences (e.g. Strindberg in America), inheritors (e.g. the Neo-Futurists’s production of the stage directions from O’Neill’s early plays), global reverberations (e.g. Nietzsche in China in Marco Millions), and other tangents, co-tangents, and secants. Most articles will be in the 3000-8000 word range, but exceptions can be made for especially important longer pieces, also shorter “notes” on highly focused topics, such as newly discovered documents. We will also consider publishing (a) edited documents of unusual interest, (b) previously published articles that might otherwise escape the attention of O’Neill scholars, (c) discussions of O’Neill in the classroom, and (d) creative writing that illuminates some aspect of O’Neill’s work. We do not accept simultaneous submissions (i.e. articles or reviews under consideration elsewhere). Queries to the editor are welcome. Submissions should be made electronically and follow the Chicago Manual of Style (with endnotes). We also publish book reviews, including more general treatments of American drama, and performance reviews. Typical length would be 800-1500 words, but longer review essays may be proposed.

The deadlines for coming issues are typically March 1 and September 1.


Book reviews and queries to: J. Chris Westgate, California State University Fullerton, Book Review Editor, jcwestgate@exchange.fullerton.edu

Performance reviews and queries to: Katie Johnson, Miami University of Ohio, Performance Review Editor, johnso33@miamioh.edu

Steven F. Bloom—Lasell University
Stephen A. Black—Simon Fraser University, emeritus
Judith E. Barlow—SUNY Albany
Patrick Chura—University of Akron
Robert M. Dowling—Central Connecticut State University
Zander Brietzke—Columbia University
Eileen J. Herrmann—Dominican University
Bette Mandl—Suffolk University, emerita
Brenda Murphy—University of Connecticut
Laurin Porter—University of Texas, Arlington, emerita
Erika Rundle—Mt. Holyoke College

Photo Gallery